hackers newstechnology gadgets

Facebook Managed Your Android Call log and SMS Data For Years

Facebook Managed Your Android User Call History and SMS Facebook knows a lot about you, your likes and dislikes and More information —it’s no surprise.

Still, do you know if you have installed Facebook Messenger app on your Android Mobile, there are chances that the Facebook had been collecting your contacts, SMS, and call history data at least until late last year

The data Facebook collected from its Android user base was found to have call-log data, along with SMS and MMS message metadata, usually dating back to a couple of years or even more.

Facebook was collecting this data on its users from last few years, which was even reported earlier in media, but the story did not get much attention at that time.Facebook data collector

As arstechnica reported, in older versions of Android when permissions were a lot less strict, the Facebook app took away contact permission at the time of installation that allowed the company access to call and message data automatically.

Eventually, Google changed the way Android permissions worked in version 16 of its API, making them more clear and granular by informing users whenever any app tries to execute permissions.

 what exactly is going on here ?

If you had granted Facebook permission to read your contacts through its Android app a few years ago, especially on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean), that permission also allowed Facebook to access your call and message Lesson learned? Don’t let Facebook or any other app access to your address book, contacts list

If u want check what data the social network has collected on you so far by going to your Facebook’s Settings→Download a copy of your Facebook data→Start My Archive.

Update, March 25, 2018, continued:

Facebook responded to reports that it collected phone and SMS data without users’ knowledge in a “fact check” blog post on Sunday. In the response, a Facebook spokesperson stated:

Call and text history logging is part of an opt-in feature for people using Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android. This helps you find and stay connected with the people you care about, and provide you with a better experience across Facebook. People have to expressly agree to use this feature. If, at any time, they no longer wish to use this feature they can turn it off in settings, or here for Facebook Lite users, and all previously shared call and text history shared via that app is deleted. While we receive certain permissions from Android, uploading this information has always been opt-in only.

On the off chance that you don’t need Facebook to store or ceaselessly transfer your contacts to its server, you can kill the persistent transferring setting in the Messenger application. This change will likewise erase all your beforehand transferred contacts.

Facebook clients on Apple gadgets are on the more secure side, as iOS has never enabled noiseless access to call information

Osman

Speaker, Founder, and CEO — Global hack News | Latest Hacking News, IT Security News, and Cyber Security

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *