If you’ve decided that you no longer want to use your Gmail account, you can choose to remove your email address from your Google account. Deleting your Gmail address will delete your emails and content saved within Gmail but note that it will not delete your Google account, Google search history, or any other information associated with your Google account such as YouTube history or your Google+ page.
Note that once your Gmail account is deleted, you will no longer be able to access any of your emails. We highly recommend backing up any files that you’d like saved.
How To Delete Your Gmail Address
Sign in to your account and head to the My Account. Under the section labeled Account Preferences, click on the option that reads Delete your account or services:
Click Delete products:
All of your active Google accounts will be listed here. Click the Gmail option and then follow the onscreen instructions:
Click Remove Gmail permanently and verify your selection. You will be asked to provide a new primary email address with which to log in to other Google services (i.e. YouTube).
Once you’ve confirmed your selection, you will be sent an email from Gmail with the subject Gmail Removal Confirmation. Click on the link to reconfirm your account removal, and then click on Verify to finalize the removal.
Your Gmail account will be removed from the server with 48 hours.